I don’t know what it would be for you, the thing that most recharges. The thing that brings you both quiet and invigoration.  Not an ordinary kind of rest or recreation, but a welcomed life-giving interruption of your ‘normal’; that which helps you remember why any of us were born, and helps you relax into the fullness of your own purpose.

I have found my oasis in an event that unfolds this week.

I know this is oasis because we spent much of today laughing and creating and working alongside good friends that we love dearly and don’t get to see often. I know this is oasis because we walked into a cozy venue tonight, welcomed by friends with whom we share passion for ministry and art. I know this is oasis because we met a new table full of people, and immediately were connected in conversations about faith and ministry and family. We did not know everyone in the room, and we won’t by the end of the week. But we are drawn together through a common love for God, for the church, for art, and for music. A true blessing.

I know this is oasis because my soul was quieted and inspired as we listened to stories and songs by a woman who has been one of my favorite musician artists since I was ten years old. As the words of Ephesians 6 were sung over us in a holy moment at the close of the evening,  I found myself saying over and over in a noiseless whisper, “thank you… thank you… thank you…”

Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. ….. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

There will be more noiseless whispers during holy moments throughout the week, and there will be an uncommon amount of thankfulness expressed by me. Because this oasis helps me stay humble and makes me thankful.

Whatever you oasis is, make sure you get there from time to time. You will not regret it. Purpose, thankfulness, and blessing. A drenching of the soul.

Oasis.

4 thoughts on “Oasis

  1. So glad you are there, soaking it in. I really do feel called to be there.

    But until I can, I pray blessings over you and refreshment for your soul. Enjoy, refuel and rest….

Leave a comment